Uptown and Country

I found an interesting exhibit mounted at the lobby of the University of the Philippines, College of Home Economics. The photo essay showed some highlights in the history of the college. This photo here shows Dr. Presentacion T. Perez in full Filipiniana regalia during the early 60s. Perez was the college founding Dean who led the institution during its pioneer days. While looking at this  photo exhibit, I was reminded of some people, eminent and otherwise yet doing their best to make things better for Filipinos and others as well. The energetic Kitkat Zobel of Makati (daughter-in-law of the cheerful Mrs. Bea Zobel) is a graduate of UP College of Home Economics as well as the (erstwhile?) White House Chef.

Others who keep  less prominent profiles never tire of instilling good values among youngsters (FLCD graduates) at CRC. A few months ago on the other hand, Luchie Callanta, a person whose enthusiasm is always high, taught me how to bake and cook – up superb dishes. Do you want to learn a few things before puttering around the kitchen or garden? Do not hesitate to send me a line. In all humility, Cathy Q. Deleon is here to help you (I will gladly give U Luchie’s email address) or give you a guided tour of the gardens at UP in Diliman. The basil on this little mound of spaghetti came from my herb garden. I just love herbs. Remember that they were placed on earth to be “in the service of those who cultivate them”, Last Monday (Sept. 5), Mariel Dayrit (erstwhile Art Director of J. Walter Thompson, a known Ad agency) and I went herb collecting (including bird watching) out in the farm fields. If you don’t mind slushing around among wild daisies and water, come around my place and we will make great time together. By the way, Joji’s next batch of Malunggay Peanut Butter will be here soon. Send your orders early. Until my next blog, go herbal and stay healthy folks!

May the lord bless us exceedingly abundantly!

About cathydeleon

I was a student of the late Constancio Bernardo and Jose Joya. I also had the privilege to have Rod Paras Perez, Napoleon "Billy" Abueva, Romeo Mananquil, Rafael Asuncion, Virginiaflor Agbayani and Lito Carating as my mentors. Larry Alcala's work at the Commission on Audit was done with a little help from me and another fine arts graduate. It was as well a privilege to meet many well known Filipino artists like Juvenal Sanso, Nena Saguil, Cesar Legaspi, Ang Kiukok, Onib Olmedo, Boy Rodriguez, Norma Belleza, Jerry Araos, Fred Baldemor, Esmeraldo Dans, Dave Aquino, and many other equally prominent visual artists. After a few years of working in a gallery, I took up graduate studies and finished my M.A. degree. Consequently I took up Philippine Studies (Philippine Society and Culture). The course was a consortium between the UP Asian Center, UP College of Social Sciences & Philosophy (CSSP) and the College of Arts & Letters (CAL). I finished my Ph.D. degree a few years ago.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

